Battlefields now on Amazon for free

Battlefields CoverArt

As some of you know, I got my start in writing by designing games. I must have played hundreds of role playing and miniatures games in my youth. As a high school student you’d find me doing my homework at a gaming table in the Black Forest Hobby Shop in Kettering, Ohio, just about any weeknight.

I especially loved historical war-games. Honestly, I think I learned more history in the hobby shop than in the classroom back then. My only barriers to enjoyment of this pastime were my poverty (washing cars only pays so much) and the overly complex rules systems available at the time.

To solve the poverty problem, I cut corners whenever I could. I found the cheapest miniature soldiers I could find, and then sped hours painting them to look awesome anyway. As to the over complex rules…well, I usually just ignored them. My friends and I soon found that in any one-hundred page rulebook there were only ten to twenty that were really necessary anyway.

And, damn, did we have fun!

Settling around a table of exquisitely modeled terrain, with a group of good friends while enjoying a fast paced game of conquest and heroes…what great afternoons that made.

So, one of the first games I wrote was Battlefields: From Broadswords to Bullets. It uses inexpensive and commonly available HO scale figures and consists of simple, fast-paced rules. Any historical era can be played with these rules and if you want to get really crazy you can send Roman legionnaires against American Civil War soldiers and see what would happen.

Right now I’m offering it as a free promotion on Amazon. But even after the promotion expires, I’ll still keep the price as low as possible. After all, this game is for the teenager who’s earning what he can by washing cars.

Have fun!

https://www.amazon.com/Battlefields-Broadswords-Bullets-Clayton-Callahan-ebook/dp/B01BOLUUDA/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466824448&sr=1-4&keywords=clayton+callahan

Leave a Reply

